President U Win Myint attends 32nd ASEAN Summit Plenary Session

Printer-friendly versionSend by email



April 27, 2018

President U Win Myint, in Singapore to attend the 32nd ASEAN Summit, visited Gardens by the Bay yesterday morning.

The President and his delegation arrived at Gardens by the Bay at 10am and were given a tour of the park by Chief Executive Officer Mr. Felix Loh. After the tour, the President signed the Gardens by the Bay visitors’ book and presented Mr. Felix Loh with a commemorative gift.
Later in the afternoon, the President met separately with heads of state and leaders of ASEAN governments.

During the meeting with Singapore Prime Minister Mr. Lee Hsien Loong at the Istana Presidential Palace, the two sides discussed increasing bilateral relations and cooperation, trade and investment, Singapore’s continued assistance to the human resource development sector and the vocational training sector in Myanmar, as well as its humanitarian assistance in Rakhine State.

At the meeting with Prime Minister of Laos Mr. Thongloun Sisoulith in Singapore’s Shangri La Hotel, they discussed the continuing and increasing friendly bilateral relations and cooperation. President U Win Myint was invited to vist Laos.

While meeting President Joko Widodo of Indonesia at the Shangri La Hotel in Singapore, they discussed increasing bilateral relations and cooperation, humanitarian assistance for Rakhine State and Myanmar’s attendance at the ASEAN leaders’ gathering held in Bali, Indonesia, as well as the World Bank and International Monetary Fund’s annual meeting.

In the evening, the President attended the official dinner hosted by the Prime Minister of Singapore.

Later, the President attended the 32nd ASEAN Summit Plenary Session held at the Istana Presidential Palace and participated in the discussion titled “Building a Resilient and Innovative ASEAN.”

The dinner and the plenary session were attended by Heads of State and Heads of Government, as well as representatives from the ASEAN member countries such as Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and the ASEAN Secretary General.